File Transfer - size limit? [solved]

dude67

Is there a limit of 4 GB when transferring files from one linux machine to another? I have been unable to transfer a video file from one PC to the other, but only with this one particular file. The size of the file is 4.3 GB and the file transfer always stops at 4.0 GB.

Then again, I've tried to transfer the file from the one linux machine to a USB 2.0 HardDrive, but the same applies: When the file transfer is almost done at 4.0 GB, it stops and there is this message:

The process for the file protocol died unexpectedly.

Is the file somehow corrupted or is this some type of built-in limitation to file transfer?

Sorry, if this seems like total newbie question, but I've never seen this happen before...

Thanks Spinynorman.

I've done some studying and tried to pack the original file, but archiving failed for some reason. I'm DL'ing the same file again from my PVR to see if the file is somehow corrupted and the new file would be OK.

But to my original question: does filetransfer set a limit to the file size? The transfer always ends when the file size reaches 4.0 GB...

Samba does have this limit, nfs does not. I think there is a workaround for Samba, but up to date I never needed it, and I do not know which it is.

Regarding the USB drive, if its FAT32 formatted then 4GB is again the limit for filesize, under any OS, not just Linux. The drive must be formatted at a native Linux format to be able to handle files that big (or NTFS, which isn't writable under Linux in a regular way).

Edited by scarecrow

OK, that makes sense. I did nfs the file between Linux PCs, but I believe my USB2 HDs are formatted to FAT32 (a long time ago I had a dual boot with winXP/Win98SE...).