Sound server fatal error.....

Guest bpitsenb

Guest bpitsenb

I recently have had a problem with my acount which i had to solve by deleting the acount and creating a new one of the same name. Ever since i've done this i get fatal errors from the sound server upon logging in. The messages are generally something like:

Sound Server Fatal error:

/tmp/mcop-blaine is not owned by user

So i thought i could solve this problem by giving myself ownership of this folder. This produces a similar, but slightly different error. I'm new to the entire Linux thing, so i'm sure that there is some simple solution to this problem.Thanks,

-Blaine P.

[i'm running a AMD athalon 1200 mhz with onboard sound and plenty of ram. My os is Mandrake 8.2]

Guest bpitsenb

I tried deleting /home/blaine/.kde, it did nothing but change the colors of my desktop. It seems like it wants the folder to be owned by some system acount, i'm just not sure who to give ownership of the file. Depending on wether i own the file or not it gives me one of two messages:

If i don't own the file:

/tmp/mcop-blaine is not owned by user

if i do own the file:

/tmp/mcop-blaine is accesable owned by user

Looks lile a no-win situation.. Who is the owner of your mcop-<your name> file?

-Blaine P.

Guest bpitsenb