Networking Problems

Guest rpgsearcherz

Guest rpgsearcherz

Lets see if I can explain this. I will start w/ my software first.

One PC running Windows XP Pro(I want it to be host)

One laptop running Mandrake 9.0(Want to be Client)

When I hook up the two pc's together, it shows them as both being "networked" in terms of it not saying "XX Has been disconnected", and all of the lights being on(link/act, power, and 100(??)). Now, though, I can not get the two computers networked together. I am new at Linux and have no idea what I'm doing, so any help would be appreciated. Aalso, if at all possible, I would like to have my Win XP pc host internet sharing w/ the laptop as host(because my laptop isnt good and so its not used very often). Thanks everyone.

P.S. If you need more information about my problems or anything else, just ask. also, if you have any instant messangers, and would rather help me there, heres my info

email- rpgsearcherz@screaminet.com

AIM rpgsearcherz

MSN- raptor99_rulez@hotmail.com

yahoo- rpgsearcherz

Lets see if I can explain this.  I will start w/ my software first.

One PC running Windows XP Pro(I want it to be host)

One laptop running Mandrake 9.0(Want to be Client)

When I hook up the two pc's together, it shows them as both being "networked" in terms of it not saying "XX Has been disconnected", and all of the lights being on(link/act, power, and 100(??)).  Now, though, I can not get the two computers networked together.

I have no idea what _networked_ computer means to you but here we go. If you want to share files you have to run SAMBA on your Linux box. If you want to run SSH (or Telnet) you need to run the diamon on your Linux box and need Putty, a free client for Win32 machines. Other than that I have no idea .. what do you mean by _networked_?

Aalso, if at all possible, I would like to have my Win XP pc host internet sharing w/ the laptop as host(because my laptop isnt good and so its not used very often).  Thanks everyone.