X Library Files Failing to Load

Guest lownote

Guest lownote

I'm attempting to do a first time install of 9.1 onto an old IBM TP 240 with a 6-gig HD, 196 megs of RAM and a very slow external CD-ROM drive through a SCSI PC card. I downloaded and created ISO disks 1 - 3 and finally got it loaded--this took about 5 hours because of the speed of the CD-ROM. However, when I rebooted I got an error message that there had been an error while loading shared libraries: libXmuu.so.1. I'm a complete novice in Linux, and being dumped into command mode has me stumped on how to fix this, particuarly with this terrible CD drive I have. Do you think these files are on my HD now and just need to be enabled? Or, will they need to be extracted from the install disks. I've tried several more "update" installations, but it is now hanging completely at the very last step--freeze with no cursor control. If someone could provide a roadmap or point me to a resource that will explain what I need to type t fix this, it would be most appreciated.

Welcome to linux! Really, it gets easier.

First, did you md5sum the iso's to make sure that they were correct? Often install probelms are related to corrupt downloads, which can yield a varied strangeness in responses.

Also, are you trying to boot into x, and x is failing? Try to do it in the console, startx, and then seeing what the errors are that are reported. The lib you are reporting as not loading is part of the XFree86 environment, which is used in linux to create windows. Perhaps reinstalling the XFree86-libs-xxx.rpm might do the trick

urpmi XFree86-libs

or

rpm -Uvh XFree86-libs

This must be done as root.

Perhaps the cdrom has commited errors when reading the data.

As far as I know, shared libs usually do not need to be enabled, and certain customized programs might need to be added to the path, but nothing in a standard install.

Guest lownote