Help for Linux Newbie with CD and Sound

davidw55

I am very new to Linux, so I am not sure what I need to change to get my CD-ROM and Sound working in 9.1 (I am assuming it does not matter which desktop env. you are using, I have been using both KDE and GNOME). In the Mandrake Control Center, it has setup the devices and recognizes that I have a Creative SB Live! Value (CT4780) Sound Card, and a SAMSUNG CD-ROM SC-148F (48x CD-ROM). However, anytime I try to access the CD-ROM it looks like it tries to poll the floppy instead in either the file manager or in a browse window. I am guessing I need to change a configuration file somewhere to get this working. Likewise, I cannot get any sound to come out of my Harmon/Kardon speakers. I am running a Dell Dimension 8100 1.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, Maxtor 60GB HD (Dual Boot).

Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks...

David

open Mandrake control center -> hardware -> hardware list

select the sound card run the config tool in the dropdown list make sure the driver selected is the emu10k drivers not the audigy driver. hit ok that should do it.

If emu10k was selected already open program menu -> multimedia -> sound ->aumix

and check the volumes.

as for the cdrom post the contents of you /etc/fstab file.

open Mandrake control center -> hardware -> hardware list

select the sound card  run the config tool in the dropdown list make sure the driver selected is the emu10k drivers not the audigy driver. hit ok that should do it.

If emu10k was selected already open program menu -> multimedia -> sound ->aumix  

and check the volumes.

as for the cdrom post the contents of you /etc/fstab file.

johnnyv, Thanks a LOT! That did the trick. For some reason when Linux was installed evidently it set it to audigy instead of emu10k.

As for the fstab file here are its contents:

/dev/hda5 / ext3 defaults 1 1

none /dev/pts devpts mode=0620 0 0

/dev/hda7 /home ext3 defaults 1 2