Advice badly needed: rdesktop with Win2K Terminal Services

theYinYeti

I'm in the process of making my company switch one of its servers to Linux, and "sort of" switch all their PC to linux too. Here's what I plan:

- A Windows 2000 Terminal Services server for all Win32 apps, and remote display

- A Linux server for everything else (files, printers, backup, firewall, DHCP, Apache, LDAP...)

- rdesktop (RDP protocol) on Linux for all PCs (Linux is used, but hidden under the Win32 desktop)

- Authentication with LDAP/Samba

Now I've read this article: http://mcpmag.com/columns/article.asp?EditorialsID=295 and I'm becoming very concerned (and worried) about licences, and authentication.

I have NO experience with Windows Terminals, and NO experience with Samba and LDAP authentication, and besides, English is not my mother-tongue.

So please advise me:

1- Do I understand wrong, or do I have to purchase Windows client licences for Linux clients (!!!) running rdesktop?

* if so, where does Linux store the license file?

* if not, will Linux clients be allowed to connect to the Win2K server?

2- Do I have to run Win2K Terminal Services with Active Directory, or will the server accept to use an external LDAP server for authentication?

3- In short, am I going straight to trouble :?

Yves.

Ok im not conversant on win2k terminal server but

As far as i know microsoft server requires a license for every connected user thats why samba servers are so popular(you don't have to pay for seats on the server).

Normally the purchase of a server product comes with a certain number of user licenses, if you want to connect more users to the server you need to buy a extra license pack which was on a disk that you run on the server to allow more users to connect to it.

Note that i haven't been following this sort of thing for sometime now, as i am only using linux servers, so things may have changed (though i doubt it, and if so not for the better).