no dual boot after installing

Guest albatros

Guest albatros

as a complete newbie y have some basic question. like to switch over and to learn first.

installed latest version of iso disc on pentium 32 bit with win xp. partitioning of 8 gb from disk seemed no problem, all visible after installation. but after restarting there apeared no choice between win and mandriva. windows just started up as usual. please tell how to adjust. thanks.

You must install the boot loader onto the MBR (Master Boot Record) of your primary drive. This is usually the drive that contains the windows partition and is the first boot device. You probably installed it onto he Linux "root" partition, which will not get you anywhere. Put your disk back in, boot to the recovery console (it is a menu option) and install the boot loader to the MBR. Then you will be able to choose which you want to boot.

Welcome to MUB and welcome to Linux!

Guest albatros

thanks for your instructions, seemed fairly simple. but... i get no menu option to boot in recovery console. so stared to search a bit and got the boot loader menu. selected the "grub with grafics" and bootdevice: /dev/hda. this seems to be the right spot. but still no result when starting up. when entering again in the boot loader message "no bootloader installed" appears and this returns every time i do the process (tried with all possible presented alternatives). what am i doing wrong. sorry for this silly question, but fiddled around for quiet some time without any results. thanks again for your help!

Edited by albatros

No questions are silly. When I first started fiddling with Linux, I did not find this sight for many months, and I almost tossed it out of frustration! :lol:

Please tell me more abut your hardware. What is the motherboard? What are your devices?

Guest albatros

ok, thank you for your patience. i'm sure this will be running one day and hope to be able to eliminate win asap.

here my configuartion: