Wine in 9.0

Guest Grimey

Guest Grimey

I'm sure that there has already been a post about this, but I am new to the forums and I was wondering if someone could steer me in the right direction.

I'm a newbie to linux and I recently installed Mandrake 9.0 and I have a few games and some programs that I would like to try out using wine and I have heard that it can be done. The problem is I don't know how to insall wine, where to find the right package for my distro and such. When I go to wine's webiste I find that there is nothing that says mandrake and I'm not sure which one I should download. Can someone please help??? Thank you in advance for your assistance...

hi,

i was going to say that you try the cvs version but i guess that will have to wait until you get more familiar with your mandrake machine. you can get the daily (therefore updated) build binary rpm here -> wine.dataparty.no [1]. download the rpm (not the src.rpm unless you want to rebuild it [2]) package and then as root issue the command

# rpm -Uvh [insert name of downloaded package here]

after that then wine is installed. but before you start wine please consider these

- wine is an alpha project, meaning it is not meant for public consumption yet as it is evolving quite rapidly (you will notice this when you start using the cvs version).

- being an alpha project, your mileage might vary with each windows application. the wine developers are only basing their work on shoddy windows documentation and thus 100% emulation is downright impossible.

- most windows games use direct3d API. transgaming's winex project is better suited for this but you will have to build it from source. wine has made its own progress in the gaming field (i was able to run Throne of Darkness last week but without sound :#:) but it might not be enough.

break a leg and have fun!

ciao!