WG111T Netgear USB Wifi

Guest byder

Hey Everyone! I am new to Linux and new to the forums, so I hope I am not asking a totally noob question :P

Has anyone successfully got a WG111T Netgear USB Wifi adapter to work under Mandrake 2006? I kinda have an old version, which is working well for me at the mo :)

If you have, could you give me a run down on how? Drivers (Where to get them?) Installation, Setup etc!

Thanks a lot

C

I've got that one. You have to use ndiswrapper, as HardDrake seems to recognise it as a scanner, but I used ndiswrapper and it worked fine, so:

urpmi ndiswrapper

then google for ndiswrapper, find their wiki and follow the instructions here. They also have a link for drivers, so you can download the correct ones. I downloaded the version 1.2 drivers, even though my adapter is 1.3. And then follow the install guide from ndiswrapper as I mentioned before.

Some Mandriva specific stuff, add the following to /etc/modprobe.preload:

ndiswrapper

this will load the module at boot, and ensure that your card works from booting.

Ok, so heres why I am such a noob! Sorry for the stupid questions! I am honestly gonna need a step by step guide to get my thru this first time. I think most people assume alot, when a novie to linux!

Ok, you say!

Code: Urmpi ndiswrapper, now Ok! I get that, but what does it all mean! Lol. Where do I type this? Do I just go to the Tar Ball folder in my KDE and type it? I dunno? Do you go to the konsole?

Ok, so!

The installation guide says 'Go to the source-directory and run 'make distclean' and 'make'.'

1) Where is the source directory? What addy, is it in the console at '//'? Coz that seems to me like the root?!

2) What does that do, so I know for future refrence!

then it goes on to say 'As root, run 'make install'.' Ok again the above questions apply!

1) Where do I type this? Is this an app that I am not aware of?

2) Should I type it in the Konsole, or whilst simply browsing the folder again?