Access denied /mnt/cdrom

Guest kayann

Guest kayann

Today for some reason I can no longer access my DVD drive under Mandrive 2007 Powerpack.

Yesterday it was working fine :-)

When I go into Devices (icon on desktop) and double click on the DVD drive, I see the mount process running, then a message pops up saying "Access denied /mnt/cdrom."

For some strange reason it's user id and group are set to some weird random number: 4294967295. This suprises me but then again I don't know if it is meant to be or not - I would've expected something more like 'ken' as that is my user id/login.

I'm pretty new to all this so go easy :-)

As root (su in terminal) I 'umount /mnt/cdrom', then 'chown root:root /mnt/cdrom'. (change seems to show in konquorer)

(why did i do this? simply because that's what I saw my hard drive partitions all are owner: root, group: root)

However when I then mount it I still get access denied, and user id and group get reset back to that same strange number.

When I unmount it - it's all back to root:root...

fstab file:

/dev/sda5 / ext3 defaults 1 1
/dev/sda8 /home ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom auto umask=0,users,iocharset=utf8,noauto,ro,exec 0 0
/dev/sda1 /mnt/win_c ntfs umask=0,nls=utf8,ro 0 0
/dev/sda6 /mnt/win_d ntfs umask=0,nls=utf8,ro 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/sda7 swap swap defaults 0 0

What tampering have I done lately? Nothing that I would've thought relevant. in fact the ONLY thing I did was play with my video card drivers. Ie. in the config tool I changed my graphics card from Radeon (fbdev) which is where it was after install, to Radeon. Dumb i know. Lost my gui didn't I. no screens or whatnot. Thankfully I dual boot with Vista... I tried xorgconfig but that didn't work. However XFdrake worked, and my gui is back, however after this (I suspect) when I try to access my dvd drive i get this acces denied error.