Boot Problem (Not booting into X Windows) [SOLVED]

eyeh8windows

Hi all,

I'm new to Mandriva and looking for some help for a boot problem.

My system no longer boots to the graphical interface (boots to the command line). Before the problem started I noticed hda1 (where the O/S files are) ran out of space. I only assume this is the cause of my problem and if so, how can I resize the partition from the command line.

The disk the O/S is on is divided into three partitions: 1. O/S, 2. Swap File, 3. hda6 (user files). The hda6 partition is almost totally empty so resizing is an option as far as I can tell.

Hopefully I am on the right track and someone can help soon.

Thanks,

Edited by eyeh8windows

let's not go resizing just yet...when you get to the command line, have you tried running the command "startx" to start the graphical interface? if not, try that, and if it fails, try to copy the errors and post them here so that we can try to track down the specific problem. if it works, then you should be able to resize partitions by going into the Mandriva Control Center (aka "Configure your/my computer" and looking for a partition tool in there (can't remember exactly what it's called).

running out of disk space really shouldn't cause you to be unable to start the GUI.

Tyme,

I had my wife try it for me, here's the results:

It had several errors the only ones I was able to record are

1. Fatal server error, could not open default font 'fixed'. and

2. Fatal IO error 104 connection reset by peer on X server (;0.0) after 0 requests, 0 known processed with 0 events remaining.

What motherboard is it? There will be a specific card it's running from the mobo, be it ATI, NVIDIA, or others.

It's an ASUS A7V8X-LA with VIA KM400A & VIA VT8237 chipsets and integrated graphics is VIA UniChrome.

The more I read my system specs, the more I wish I would have just built the computer myself.

Edited by eyeh8windows

OK, login to the system, and then: