Problems with Graphics Card on Dell Inspiron 510m

Guest DrF

Hello folks,

I am new to Linux and not very technical, so please bear with me.

I've installed Mandriva 10.1 on a Dell Inspiron 510m.

It has two Intel 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controllers (in XP, I can see two).

When I did the installation, I was told that the graphics card had not been configured. I cannot find the correct driver in the drakconf selection for display, the closest I can get is 85x but when I try to start X with this, configuration, all I get is a green screen and my system totally locks up.

I have tried downloading a linux driver for this graphics controller, but it made no difference.

If any of you have the same graphics controller and a 1024 x 768 (16) display panel, could you please let me know how you managed to configure your system? I have looked everywhere and am officially at a Loss.

The two graphics controllers shown in XP are basically one, XP just shows the internal display and the external vga-out as two seperate items

85x should be the right one, but afaik some versions of mandriva had problems with the intel 852/855, maybe you try the standard vesa-driver (should be somewhere in the list) or you use a newer mandriva version (the newer x.org graphics drivers should work with your hardware)

you can reconfigure your graphic-setup from the console by typing drakx11, there just pick the vesa-driver

This is how you do it, I have same chipset, info on my webpage here:

http://www.buziaks.com/ian/mdk10xinteldrivers.htm

You will need to make sure your kernel-source is installed. To check your current installed kernel this link here:

http://www.buziaks.com/ian/mdk10xkernelversion.htm

then to install the kernel, go into Install Software, or from the cli type:

su (supply root password when prompted)
urpmi kernel-source