GDM or KDM, thats the question

Guest tomasz

Guest tomasz

Hi, as a newbie, I had recently the opportunity to have a close look on the Gnome DIsplay Manager, which looks far better as the default KDM. Please, can anyone tell me how to change the display managers? I would like to use GDM as the default display manager everytime when my system starts. For sure, there is somewhere a configfile, which can be edited acordingly. :lol:

thanks in advance,

tomasz

Go to MDK control centre, click on boot, then boot config, you will see a panel which at the bottom gives you the choice to start with KDE or Gnome.

You also posted this in Installation, this is the correct forum. I have removed the other post.

Regards, Anon

Guest tomasz

...sorry, but this wold mean that I would directly boot to Gnome. I want to use the GDM to choose my windowmanager, instead of KDM. I don't want to start Gnome automaticly after boot. sorry for the misunderstanding formulation of mine...

Guest tomasz

okay dokay, thanx a lot. by the way, I have tried the autoboot-mode for Gnome, and something really strange happened: The fonts of the genome menus look now far better! in fact, they are really beautifull now. when starting Gnome from KDM, all the Gnome fonts were really ugly as hell. strange, strange.... :roll:

I thought AA was default in gnome, but my font's didn't seem to have an improvement til I did the below from this link

# How do I enable AA fonts in GNOME2

To use AA fonts in GNOME2, the variable GDK_USE_XFT needs to be set to '1'. This needs to be set when you log in to apply it to all your programs. If you use startx then put it in your .xsession. If you use gdm then you can put it into your gdm session.

It's not there now, but the font's still look better.

• 1 month later...
Guest urbanotter

Hi,