Networking 2 computers at home using modems

Guest Busbodger

Guest Busbodger

Hello! Mandrake Newbie here. Been using Mandrake (Mandriva) for a few months now. Am continuing to migrate away from Windows to Mandrake and so far love it!

One goal for my main machine was to use it as a jukebox running much of my music collection from it's hard drives. I love Amarok!

I have already set up an analog feed from the speaker jack output of the computer to my stereo and then to my shop speakers. Sounds great.

Next step is to find a way to use my old 486DX4 Laptop to show what Amarok is playing and Amarok's controls so I can control it. Basically show the Amarok window on the laptop in the shop. I am sure somebody has done this but I don't know what to call it so I have been unable to research it. Anyone name it for me?

Again the audio stream is output to my stereo, just want to control Amarok from my laptop.

Now, final piece to my want list: I want to use existing hardware. Can I configure the two computers so they can exchange this info via their modems via a plain phone wire running between them? We're talking about 25 feet of wire. The modems are tested and working on both.

Once upon a time I could have used PC Anywhere to do this job. Is there an equivalent Linux solution?

THANKS in advance to anyone that can help.

Chris

Cookeville, TN

with regard to the modem-to-modem: I don't believe this is possible, as modems require a phone system to communicate (so that they can actually dial out). You don't have an other options, perhaps Parallel Ports (better known as the hold printer ports)? I'd really suggest spending the $40 or so to get two cheap network cards and a nice long network cable, as you'll get a faster connection.