Harddrake downloading new drivers

solarian

Hi there!

Well, here's what happened to me today and I had to reinstall my system.

First time after installing 10.2 rc2 some days later (today) I clicked on harddrake and it immediately told me it wanted to download something from the net. I was stupid enough to say yes. :wall:

Anyways, it downloaded new drivers for my Radeon 9000

After reboot X didn't start. I tried to edit the xorg.conf file (I have plenty of experience with it), but no matter what I did (mcc, etc) X didn't start. There were various error messages, one told something about that I have older kernel module than that the driver requires or something like that (or that my module was older than the kernel must have). And it showed the version number of that module and what was weird was that it told that I had something like x.1.2 but I needed at least x.1.1

No logic at all!

Anyways, just want to say: be careful when allowing harddrake to download anything.

It was a timecostly lesson for me

Edited by solarian

Unless you are changing hardware it is useful to go into MCC -> Services and deactivate harddrake to not start at boot.

This also speeds up bootup quite considerably since it is no longer searching for hardware changes you know have not been made.

It often creates unnecessary problems after having served its major purpose in the original Mandrake install.

If you plan to change hardware then it is a good practice to reactivate it before shutting down to make the hardware changes. After completion then booting up again and progressing through login then deactivate it once again.

I have followed this practice for a couple of years now and have never had problems.

Cheers. John.

Unless you are changing hardware it is useful to go into MCC -> Services and deactivate harddrake to not start at boot.

<<snip>>

I have followed this practice for a couple of years now and have never had problems.

Cheers.                          John.