2 problems

wilco1973

Hi i have 2 problems (BTW i am new here)

system info

Mandrake 10.1 with all updates retrieved lanquage english

I discovered today that i have a double login... i typed users in a command and my name showed up twice i am positive that this was not alway the case, don`t know how it happend but i quess it came when i was trying (without succes) to change my login screen so i can choose between KDE and Gnome.

that directly is the second problem, i started with KDE but installed Gnome too (KDE 3.2 and Gnome 2.6) at the beginning i could choose but no i can`t and its frustrating. i solved it by forcing a automatic login with Gnome (that i can do) but every time when i logoff i get KDE instead of Gnome.

what do i want?

i do not want to login twice offcourse (it slows down my PC)

and i want to choose my desktop when logging in or reboot between KDE and Gnome

ps. i am a newbie B)

Welcome to the board! This is a great place to expand your Linux know-how.

It can be pretty easy to login twice. If you have shelled to a new tty0, tty1 etc. Other things that can case this to happen are running instances of Virtual Desktop or VNC. There are hundreds of possibilities.

Unless you are logged into an X environment (KDE or Gnome) twice, I wouldn't worry about slowing your machine down. You can check to see how many of each process is present by typing 'ps aux' at the CLI or do it via GUI in Mandrake START>>System>>Monitoring>> KDE System Guard.

I definitley would not worry too much - you will figure it out as you go along.

As far as the other question, try Start New Session from the "Start Menu"

Edited by Tymestream

When you log in through X-Windows, that's one user. When you open a console window, that spawns another user instance. So opening a console window to check how many users are logged in causes a new user to be logged in ;) As aforementioned, it's nothing to worry about; there are several reasons this can happen.