I'm getting a second computer [solved]

santner

Basically I have stumbled across a second computer and I would like one to be a server for my website and the second to be for my home computing stuff. However, this is where it gets tricky (IMHO) I would like to have my home, Pictures, Music and Video directories mounted on both systems at the same time so that a change on one shows up on the other.

I am not new to linux but I am new to networking and Samba which I think is what I need to accomplish this. My question is this: Is this a good idea? Has anyone done this or is currently doing this?

My setup will be behind a linksys firewall. Any input would be helpful. :P

For starters, try this in your browser (works in konqueror):

fish://user@my.second.computer

(use proper user name and computer name or IP address). This should give you access to your home dir on the second computer. This does not require samba.

You can have one or several harddrive partitions of the networked computer mounted on another computer. This is called NFS or network file system. To mount a partition over the network, you can use the mount command, look at man mount. If you wish to have NFS mounted on start up you will need to edit the partition configuration file /etc/fstab.

Let's say the /home partition is physically located on PC1. If you want to access and mount it on PC2, you'll have to export it from PC1, using a protocol that preserves file-permissions. Standard on Unix is to use NFS. Both export (PC1) and mount (PC2) should be doable with GUI using Mdk Control Center.

Yves.

If you use a common home you can get problems .. (non of which are insurmountable) but for what you are doing you can use a shared drive...

what I do is have a /mnt/media on one and export this to the others. (180GB)

I keep the same homes else desktops get messy etc with different screen resoluitions

I do this from my Xbox to my server which has all my media

assuming you have #1 server and #2 client