newbie trying to install nvidia drivers for GF4MX440

Guest merlin

hey,

im pretty new to linux, just installed mandrake 9.0 today although i had a bit of a play with redhat 6.0 a couple of years ago so i know the real basics :)

anyways im trying to install the nvidia drivers for my gf4mx440 by so far having no luck whatsoever, can somebody please give me a reasonably easy to follow step-by-step guide, im not a total retard so it doesn't have to be too in depth but so far i havn't been able to find much on the net

cheers :)

-merlin

Welcome to the Mandrake family! The tutorial you're looking for can be found at http://mdkxp.by-a.com The site appears to be down right now, but I'm sure it will be back up soon. There are a lot of useful tutorials there.

In case the site doesn't come back up as soon as you'd like, are you trying to install from source? src.rpm? .rpm? I know how to do the latter 2, but I'm not sure on the first. I'll assume .src.rpm and give you a quick run through:

Bring up a console window, or starting before X is started, at the command prompt

cd to the folder you downloaded the files to.

switch to root (su <enter> root password <enter>) and type

rpm --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel-yourversion.src.rpm <enter>

rpm --rebuild NVIDIA_GLX-yourversion.src.rpm <enter>

This will build the rpms for your system, if you just got the .rpm files, install them one at a time, kernel first with

rpm -ivh NVIDIA_kernel-yourversion.rpm

repeat for the GLX file.

if you rebuilt the source, cd (still as root) to /usr/src/RPM/RPMS/ii586 (this is on my system, there will be a message at the end of the rebuild telling you exactly where the file was written) and install the rpm's with the method listed above.

now comes the file editing. I will assume you're already in X for the entire install process for these instructions.

cd to /etc/X11as root. issue the following command

kate XF86Config-4