Major problems after updating init-scripts

Guest mbnn

Guest mbnn

i updated the init-scripts (http://www.mandrakesoft.com/security/advisories?name=MDKA-2004:031) and after the next reboot a lot of things were messed up.

My network, sound system (and probably more) does nut work any more (everything worked fine prior to the update).

I have no experience in initscripts so i have no idea what to do.

"dmesg" does also give some "not-normal" inputs (strange commands/errors which i do not remember to have seen prior the update)

Can anybody help/guide me??

Is it possible to undo the update that screwed up my machine ??

Thanks in advance

Michael

Is it possible to undo the update that screwed up my machine ??

Yes, and that's about the only 'easy' way to fix it. Were there dependencies? Or was that the only rpm you updated 'with' initscripts?

Basically if the older pkgs are not on cd, you'll need to get the prior version/s from the net>dload them to a dir>uninstall the new (possibly having to force)>and install the old. As you can see, you can make things worse if you're not sure what you are doing.

Tip: wait til MandrakeUpdates are old b4 applying them....letting others be the test rats.....check here for problems the rats are having. In 3 years I've maybe used MandrakeUpdate 10 times :zzz:

Guest mbnn

As far as I remember there were no dependencies, but I updateded some other rpm at the same time (but do not remember that there were any dependcies).

What do I do to undo the update ?

I have the cds from the installation but how do i get the "right" (old) init-scripts ?

Is the only way to see if i can find the init-scripts on the install-cds and force to install them ?

Thanks in advance

Michael

PS. I will not perform any updates in the near future now (but this is the first time that i have had problems with an update)