Installing source code for 2.6.7 Kernel

Guest Tobes

Guest Tobes

I am a complete Linux newbie, so please bear with me if I am slow or just missing something obvious. Here goes:

I am trying to get my WLAN card to work with Linux and some Howtos recommend to upgrade the Kernel to 2.6.6 or 2.6.7. I downloaded the following 2 files from an ftp server:

kernel-2.6.7.2mdk-1-1mdk.i586.rpm

kernel-2.6.7.2mdk-1-1mdk.src.rpm

I am guessing the first one is the Kernel upgrade and the second one is the source code. I installed the first one using urpmi without problems (the only error message is a missing signature).

I tried installing the source code using urpmi and rpm -ivh. Using urpmi the error message for the missing signature comes up and after confirming that I want to continue nothing happens at all. Using rpm -ivh seems to process something. A number of error messages come up saying 'can't find user X' plus a line of ###########. However, the package still does not seem to install. Have also tried installing via:

rpm --rebuild kernel-2.6.7.2mdk-1-1mdk.src.rpm

Which generates an error message: '/usr/lib/rpm/rpmb/: no such file or directory'

As far as I know, the source code should install to /usr/src/linux-2.6.7mdk. However, this directory does not exist.

I have also uninstalled the old kernel source code (2.6.3mdk) using rpmdrake, but the directory /usr/src/linux-2.6.3mdk still seems to exist.

Without the new kernel sources I am not able to compile the ndiswrapper driver for my WLAN card. Any hints on installing the kernel source code greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tobes

[moved from Installing Mandrake by spinynorman - welcome to the board :)]

kernel-2.6.7.2mdk-1-1mdk.src.rpm

is not what you need. You need

kernel-source-2.6.7blabla.mdk.rpm

to build the src.rpm requires the pkg rpm-build. The correct command now for src.rpms is

rpmbuild --rebuild kernel-2.6.7.2mdk-1-1mdk.src.rpm

• 2 weeks later...
Guest reducer