partitioning hard drive

Guest pna

I am dual booting XP and Mandrake 8.2. Prior to installing 8.2

I used partition magic 7 to create several different partitions

on my 40GB hard drive. In retrospect I should have made the partition'

where I have XP and the root partition for 8.2 larger. I have lots of free

space on my hard drive and would like to increase the size of

these partitions and decrease the size of one of the data partitions.

I know how to do this using partition magic. My question is

will this mess up my 8.2 installation (e.g. mount points)? I have limited experience

with linux.

Paul

If you use diskkdrake, it may be possible to re-size partitions by backing up the data and changing the partition size, then dumping the data back (driskdrake may do this automatically for you if you back up your partition you are looking to change and then unmounting the particular partition, resize, select mount point identical to the directory you are backing up, and then diskdrake may re-size for you). I have never tried this with a root partition though, and maintain seperate drives for Linux and Windoze (98 not XPee).

If you have a reasonably sized /home partition (as opposed to just a /home directory or a small /home partition), then you don't need to maintain the other partitions, you can simply re-install mandrake over top of itself, without re-formatting the /home partition. Create user accounts with the same names as you have in your existing /home partition and all your old user data will be intact. Of course, you must re-install all your old applications as well (make sure downloaded apps are backed up in the /home partition).