X Problem

rockybalboa

Okay first, I'm a Linux newbie.

And I have scoured these forums.

I learned very simple use of VI(M) last night but now I feel OK with that.

I'm a novice Win32 programmer so I know some about generic command line function and syntax importance. However I don't know many Linux commands.

I installed MDK9.2, all went well but Desktop started locking up every 3 mins (prior to NVidia update) (This was a hard lockup, tried Alt-SysRq etc. and Ctrl-F1 etc). It was locked hard numerous times. Booting to BASH went fine and I was able to do a little editing.

So I did the NVidia (driver) update for my Geforce3-200ti, again install seemed to go well. I also did the edit directed in XF86Config-4. (I followed all instructions to the letter)

Now X tries to start (flashes 3-4 times) and then crashes.

Mistakes I have already made:

1) Ran urpmi that NVidia says NOT to do unless needed, don't believe I needed it.

2) Edited XF86Config (no -4 on the end) when I was not told to.

My idea is to reinstall X86 (this the Windows cure to every thing including OS problems) back to original configuration.

Or reconfigure X

Problem is I don't know how to do either one. And don't know how to find them in the directory structure.

I'm at work or I would try to find the log files and send them. However, they wouldn't reflect the original problem now that I've bungled things by messing with things I know nothing about.

Guess I need to reinstall X but I've read that there is a version that is particularly crappy with NVidias.

I'm open to any suggestion and thanks to all who care to advise me.

Thanks Dan

Edited by rockybalboa

To re-configure X, that's easy.