Can not install mandrak 9.2 from cd

Tovenaar

Hello all,

I'm new to linux. I got interested in an alternative operating system due to a free linux cd (Knoppix). I talked to a friend about this and he uses mandrake 9.2 . So I copied his cd's and wanted to install it on my old laptop to see what it could do.

laptop specs:

HP Omnibook 2100

intel pentuim I 266 Mhz

96 MB RAM

4,3 GB HD

2MB neomagic videocard

Toshiba CD-ROM drive

Floppy drive

I only have one slot for either a CD-ROM drive of Floppy drive. So I putted in teh CD-Rom drive, changed the bios to make the drive bootable and putted in the first CD of mandrake 9.2 .

The CD boots. So that works. I see the first blue screen where I can either press <enter> to install of <F1> for extra option.

I pressed <enter>. Then mandrake install check numberous hardware items. Then I get a black screen with below the text"press <alt>+<F1> for here <alt>+<f3> ofr kernel msg (or something). In the middle of teh screen is a blue rectangle with text in it. It states what it is doing. After this he states in the blue box "trying to access mandrake installation". After 20 sec there is an error: "cannot access the mandrake installation", retry, back, no. With restry the same msg comes onscreen. With back and no you will get in a box with the question what scsi device it shoud check, with al list of all mods to choose from. none work.

The strange thing is the cd of mandrake works perfectly on my desktop. Also my laptop had never before problems with the CD-ROM drive. I can still boot from the win98 CD-ROm or the Knoppix CD-ROM.

What is the problem? What am I doing wrong?

(I even downloaded the iso's again, checked them, burned them and they work on my desktop pc but still the same problem on my laptop.)

Greetings and thanks,

Tovenaar

Two things to try is to launch without dma enabled or apci. These can have an effect on the installer, and can be turned back on later.