MandrivaUsers.org : Firefox Couldn't load XRE functions - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Firefox Couldn't load XRE functions

#1 User is offline   jadidi 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 08-October 13

Posted 08 October 2013 - 12:12 PM

Hi there
I have RHEL5.3 box with firefox 10.0.5 .
I want to update the firefox. When I extract firefox-25.0b4.tar.bz2 and then run firefox it gives the error msg :

Couldn't load XRE functions

what can should i do?

Thanks
0

#2 User is offline   isadora 

  • Awesome
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 266
  • Joined: 20-August 04

Posted 08 October 2013 - 03:02 PM

Hi Jadidi,

Why don't you use the RHEL-provided Firefox-package?
This to make sure, you get the right packages pulled in.
.........bird from paradise.........
0

#3 User is offline   Greg2 

  • 45% Platinum
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 2,486
  • Joined: 06-April 04

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:44 PM

I believe that ´╗┐RHEL5.3 libraries are too old for firefox-25.

From:

mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/25.0a2/system-requirements/

Firefox will not run at all without the following libraries or packages:

GTK+ 2.18 or higher
GLib 2.22 or higher
Pango 1.14 or higher
X.Org 1.0 or higher (1.7 or higher is recommended)
libstdc++ 4.3 or higher
1

#4 User is offline   jadidi 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 08-October 13

Posted 09 October 2013 - 03:55 PM

View Postisadora, on 08 October 2013 - 03:02 PM, said:

Hi Jadidi,

Why don't you use the RHEL-provided Firefox-package?
This to make sure, you get the right packages pulled in.


Hi dear friend
I don't know where I could download RHEL-provided Firefox-package?

Jadidi
0

#5 User is offline   isadora 

  • Awesome
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 266
  • Joined: 20-August 04

Posted 10 October 2013 - 10:36 AM

View Postjadidi, on 09 October 2013 - 03:55 PM, said:

Hi dear friend
I don't know where I could download RHEL-provided Firefox-package?

Jadidi


Sorry, don't use RHEL myself unfortunately.
But YUM seems to be your best friend, where it concerns installing/updating software:
https://access.redha...ide/ch-yum.html

Best of luck! :)/>
.........bird from paradise.........
0

#6 User is offline   jadidi 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 08-October 13

Posted 11 October 2013 - 07:32 AM

View Postisadora, on 10 October 2013 - 10:36 AM, said:

Sorry, don't use RHEL myself unfortunately.
But YUM seems to be your best friend, where it concerns installing/updating software:
https://access.redha...ide/ch-yum.html

Best of luck! :)/>/>


Yes I know yum but I don't know usefull repositires.
0

#7 User is offline   isadora 

  • Awesome
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 266
  • Joined: 20-August 04

Posted 11 October 2013 - 10:39 AM

Found after a simple Google-search:
http://www.tecmint.c...3-fedora-17-16/

But,.......RHEL6!
.........bird from paradise.........
0

#8 User is offline   jadidi 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 08-October 13

Posted 11 October 2013 - 12:46 PM

View Postisadora, on 11 October 2013 - 10:39 AM, said:

Found after a simple Google-search:
http://www.tecmint.c...3-fedora-17-16/

But,.......RHEL6!


I saw this page and run all its commands before, but it wasn't useful for my case.
0

#9 User is offline   jkerr82508 

  • Awesome
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: 25-April 07

Posted 13 October 2013 - 07:36 PM

RHEL is a commercial product. If you don't want to pay for official RedHat support, you'd be better off using one of the RHEL clones - CentOS or Scientific Linux.

http://www.redhat.co...r/msg00004.html

Jim
1

#10 User is offline   ianw1974 

  • Platinum
  • View blog
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 14,080
  • Joined: 09-March 05

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:59 AM

As someone has pointed out, libraries on RHEL 5.3 are too old. Maybe if you updated with yum to RHEL 5.9, but I doubt it. As Jim said in previous message, upgrade to latest RHEL, in which someone already posted RHEL6 and that version of Firefox would work. Or, if you do not have a subscription, change to CentOS - but again version 6 is what you'll need since CentOS is effectively rebadged RHEL.
Ian Walker

Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........

My Linux Solutions | Linux Systems Limited
0

#11 User is offline   jadidi 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 08-October 13

Posted 15 October 2013 - 06:37 AM

View Postianw1974, on 14 October 2013 - 05:59 AM, said:

As someone has pointed out, libraries on RHEL 5.3 are too old. Maybe if you updated with yum to RHEL 5.9, but I doubt it. As Jim said in previous message, upgrade to latest RHEL, in which someone already posted RHEL6 and that version of Firefox would work. Or, if you do not have a subscription, change to CentOS - but again version 6 is what you'll need since CentOS is effectively rebadged RHEL.

Thanks a lot dears.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users