boot hangs with acpi=on

Guest id4398

Guest id4398

Hello,

I have Compaq presario, AMD2400+. When i try to boot the laptop with acpi=on , it hangs. When i try to run acpi or acpid from shell, it give me "no ACPI support in kernel, /proc/acpi not found"

I installed the linux from mandrake mirror sites, version 9.1 with kernel 2.4.21-0.13mdk.

Also my cpu fan run a very fast speed, making my laptop very hot in 15-20 minutes. Any suggestions for this?

in var/log/kernel, i found this is on of the log files

"Local APIC disabled by BIOS -- reenabling.

Found and enabled local APIC! "

Does APIC and ACPI have any conflict? I do not boot with noapic.

I am a newbie and this is my first time with linux. please help

thanks in advance

Also my cpu fan run a very fast speed, making my laptop very hot in 15-20 minutes. Any suggestions for this?
lawsonrc's toshiba did this and it was keventd. I compiled his kernel after editing a file for keventd in the kernel-source. Much easier just to install the updated kernel.rpm but at the time there wasn't an update yet. This is a known issue with laptops (legacy free bios) and the default mdk kernel with 9.1. Installing the new kernel should take care of this.

[EDIT]also, I have to boot ML9.1 with noapic and acpi=off, but I can do that because it's a desktop, so I can use apm.

Did you verify, as I suggested in your other thread, that acpi and acpid are installed and set to run at boot?

Edited by bvc

Guest id4398

Hello bvc,

Thanks for the quick reply. Have no what "keventd " is. Sorry i am totally new to linux.

Regd, you suggestions to verify acpi and acpid are installed on my machine. Whenever i try to pass acpi=on to kernel it hangs at boot.

i am only able to boot up if i pass acpi=off. When i run acpi or acpid it gives me error "No ACPI support in kernel". I believe the ACPI support is built in the default mandrake linux 9.1 kernel. Is there any way i can know whether acpi /acpid is installed on my laptop.

Thanks