Initial setting issues - mouse and non working links problem

Guest ReuvenNY

Guest ReuvenNY

I used DOS and Windows for 21 years, but am a total newbie when it comes to Linux. It's not easy to switch... but I am working on it. I successfully installed Mandrake 9.1 this morning (dual boot). Of course, a lot to learn, but here are two problems I need help with:

1. The scroll button on my mouse doesn't work. Any way to activate it?

2. The links in Mozilla Thunderbird email client do not work, no matter what I do.( I can, however, copy and paste in a browser).

Can anyone help?

Also, is there a resource on line (for BEGINNERS!) that I can learn from about those issues and how to fix them?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Reuven

for the mouse problem, i'm going to take you the hard way (because it's the easiest way...kinda...whatever).

open up a console, type su hit enter and put in your root password. you are now root.

type: vi /etc/X11/XF86Config-4

hit enter

hit the insert key

look for the mouse section, if you have a line like this:

Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"

then you are fine there. if it instead reads just PS/2 or anything else, change it to read IMPS/2

then, below that, add this line:

Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

hit the escape key, type in :wq and hit enter, type exit to leave root mode, restart X (ctrl+alt+backspace).

in mozilla thunderbird you need to tell it what browser you use, but since i've never used that program (well, for more than a day-didn't like it) i'm not sure where that option is hiding at...

Guest ReuvenNY

Thanks for the quick response. I followed your instructions, but as soon as I hit ctrl+alt+backspace, it brought me to the text interface asking:

localhost login:

I entered the login name, it loged me in, but I have no clue what to do next.

How do I get back to the graphical interface?

Thanks again

Reuven

P.S. Even when I reboot, it brings me to the same point.

Guest ReuvenNY