Problems installing Mandrake [solved]

Guest scottmnz

Guest scottmnz

Hi,

I've never used Linux before, but I thought I'd have a go, so I bought some cd's with Mandrake v10 on them from Dick Smith (an electronics store chain in NZ and Aust). When I put in the disc and try to install, it freezes up immediately after the first screen. It will load the options screen, but all of the other install types still freeze up almost immediately. The computer is a Packard Bell C3 laptop.

Any ideas? Could the discs be stuffed, or will this just not work on my laptop?

Thanks

Mandrake 10 is a very old version to pay for. Do you have access to a good internet connection? If so, you could download the latest version for free, burn it to a cd and use that to install your system.

We need some more info on your hardware. Could you please give us your laptop specs, or a link to them?

Welcome to the board! :)

In theory, if your machine and associated hardware is older than 3 years old - Mandrake 10 should work. However, there won't be any further security updates for it. In fact, you probably won't be able to download any updates for it whatsoever because they would have long been deleted from the mirrors.

A more recent distro would be better in terms of support for updates/bug fixes/security updates, etc.

Hello Scott.

Are you in Australia or NZ ???. I am suspecting NZ because I have never seen Mandriva in any of Dick Smiths shops in Cairns or anywhere else in Australia. (Not to say that some store somewhere may not have sold some copys)

Do you have ADSL ???. If not then I could post you a DVD Mandriva2008 copy no charge, actually same applys if you are in Australia and on Dial-up.

Post whatever your answer is here at MUB, but send me your postal address via a PM (Personal Message). Do not post your address here.

Once I have the info, the disk will be on its way within 24hours.

Cheers. John.

Edited by AussieJohn

• 2 weeks later...
Guest scottmnz