Install wireless network card on Mandriva

mr_bubbles_rulz

So all i want to do is to be able to use the internet on my linux operating system - Mandriva. Whenever I go into the 'hardware' page, it has my wireless network card there, however, when I try to set up a wireless network connection with it, it is not an option for the hardware to choose from. The only thing it picks up is my onboard wired LAN. I have tried installing with the drivers but it just says 'there is no device that supports this driver'. What can I do? Plese, I am a newbie at Linux and I need full guided steps. I keep getting told to update ndiswrapper and try again - what the hell is that? how do i update? installation instructions?. Please, detailed instructions. I have a netgear WG311 wireless network card. Thanks again, anything is much appreciated

Not done it before but this is the start based on what i have read.

based on this

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/...etgear_WG311_v3

open a console

type

su

type in your root password

urpmi -v ndiswrapper

now get your file from

http://www.marvell.com/drivers/upload/MV-S800374-00.zip

unzip it to a directory and go to that directory in the console still as root

cd Inf/WinXP_2K

ndiswrapper -i mrv8335.inf

check if it is installed

ndiswrapper -l

now you can try this

modprobe ndiswrapper

now

iwconfig

If iwconfig lists a "wlan0" network interface with a whole bunch of details, then it worked.

then they say try this so it works on start up.

ndiswrapper -m

Give that a try..

Edited by michaelcole

I have a netgear WG311 wireless network card.

There are three different chipsets used in that card, depending on the version. Please open a terminal (konsole, if you're using KDE), and enter in the terminal:

lspci

then press 'Enter', and post the output here, so we can determine what chipset you have.