Linux won't load

iphitus

Hi

I am a complete noob so please explain how to do do anything in english.

I have a dual boot Win95/Mandrake8.2. Kernel: 4.18-6mdk

I turned on my computer and selected linux at LILO and it wouldn't load.

I turned my computer of and selected 'failsafe' so i didn't have the graphic interface and it loads fine until

Mounting root filesystem

hda5: bad access: block=2, count=2

ent_request: I/O error, dev 03:05 (hda), sector 2

EXT3-fs: unable to read superblock

mount: error 22 mounting ext3 flags freeing unused kernel memory: 260k freed

Kernel panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel.

It stops there and doesn't react to anything i type.

I can reinstall it but i need to get some of the data of the partition first.

I don't have access to any other linux computers.

Thanks

James

I'm guessing that you have a bad sector on your hard drive. You need a utility to "mark" the drive so that the data is moved out of that sector and the sector is not used to store data.

I know that ms scandisc (gasp) will do this, and I am sure that there are some commercial utilities that will as well. The problem with ms products, besides their terrible business practices, is that they will not recognize linux data. I am also sure that someone here can direct you to an open source utility.

Check this out. :wink:

http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewtopic.php?t=4387

Does anyone know of any disk tools to do the job? Any that'll run in Winblows but still be able to access it and fix it? I really want to get back onto it again. Otherwise is there a way i can access my data (maybe with Toms Root Boot Disk?) move it to windows and reinstall Mandrake?

Please help, thanks

James

You can try booting off the Mandrake CD1, and typing rescue. Then

mount -t ext3 /dev/partname /mnt