Installing Mandrake 9.1 on WinME machine

davidw55

OK, I have to admit I am a complete newbie to Linux (although the command line syntax looks a lot like DOS that I have used since the '80s :) ). I used to love running OS/2 (for the stability) and I am hoping Linux can be MY new OS/2 so to speak. I'm really tired of Windows, and have vowed not to run XP for several reasons. I went ahead and ordered a standard 9.1 for $5.99 to avoid the hassle of creating my own, especially since it's likely I would do something wrong in the process.

I have a Dell Dimension 8100 1.4Ghz, 256MB RAM, with a 60GB HD, of which about 22 is currently used. I also have an external 120GB USB that I use for doing Ghost backups and storing other offline data. I have read several of the topics in the forum and while I have seen a few that had similarities to my situation, I didn't really see one that addressed my questions, so here goes.

First, (not thinking) I went to install 9.1 on my 60GB drive with WindowsME, and after I created a boot disk, and started the install, by the time I got to the Packages selection, I didn't realize that Mandrake had already created a Linux partition and swap partition. Only problem was the Linux partition was only 248 MB in size! That's not even enough to run Knome or KDE, soooo, I killed the install and deleted the two partitions. It had been awhile since I had done fdisk type stuff so I decided I would do a full Ghost backup to my 120 GB drive before going any further. I also decided I would read the help, faqs, etc. on the forun before doing anything else.