Installing Mandrake on USB 2.0 Disk

Compugen

Hi

I am new to the forum. Before posting this up I actually searched forum for installation on USB disk and was all the open threads. I would like to know if by any way we can do this. I have read all over the net that there are work arounds. But since I am new to Linux I am quite a bit lost.

I have tried booting with the hdd disk attached and Mandrake 10.1 had /dev/sda1 option in the installation. I started the process. Now the problem comes. As soon as it asks for the partition. I create following in the drive:

Its 40GB Disk

14GB -- Reserve for shared and other iso

248MB - Swap

5GB - /root

10GB - home

Now under custom partitioning i select following types as under:

Swap Linux Swap

RootExt2 (Journalised FS)

HomeJournalised FS ext2

Formatting swap...done

Formatting root.....done

formatting home-----Failed

error it shows is something like "I do not know how to format sda7 in type ext2:vfat file system." At times it does the formatting and as soon as I press done it shwos "Hdalists not found." it takes back to partitioning.

Please help with it coz i know after installing it like this we can make a custom kernel to load the USB by default or atleast a script so that it checks for USB first and if found it will boot the device

TIA

:::::Update:::::

I tried installing it again by attaching the IDE to primary port instead of USB and it went flying well....

Any idea why is that happening? Sda thing gets error like "HDlists not foudn" and so on... and now where should i change hda to sda now? secondly, cant linux get to knw what i am attaching. Like here i ll have to change sda in fstab as well. Any idea to update these things automatically.

TIA

All the help is really appreciated

Edited by Compugen

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the board :beer: