autostart script for ventrilo [SOLVED]

Noob here that is seeking help with making a script to start a voice server application. :wall:

I have a ventrilo server installed in my box. I want to write a script that issues this command for the working directory of the application ./ventrilo_srv (/usr/ventrilo). now when I am in the cosole i can start the server by simply issueing the command ( ./ventrilo_srv). I would like to have this application start on boot up after everything else services, daemons, etc and such are done and loaded successfuly.

I was reading a post (https://mandrivausers.org/index.php?showtopic=5084) where it talks about starting program on the boot process. I tried to /etc/rc.local by adding a statement as it said to. but not getting it to work.

pretty much i am also new to scripting so i have not completely understood the whole scripting concept and are still basing what i do understand on dos batch writing. However, I was able to create a test script that does launch the server. now my question and problem is related to how to insert the same command(s) in the rc.local script or the inittab to start my server.

I would like it if someone was able to just show me how to go about this so that I can properly understand and get the server up and running. by this then I can get a clear, working example that I can then elaborate on or recreate with other applications aswell.

if this is not worded correctly feel free to say so and I will give step by step instructions to what I have done. i have mandrake 9.1 installed because I want to understand my box first before I do a fresh install of the newer versions.

Edited by gem-in-eyez

thnx for the reply and the possible help.

the script i created has this code:

#

# This is a self made script to launch ventrilo

# It runs in conjuction wuth /etc/inittab to autostart should it be killed or rebooted

##

#

#

cd /usr/ventrilo

./ventrilo_srv