Sound Card Fun!

Guest BarryFandango

Guest BarryFandango

I'm a Win-crossover new user, i don't know about linux but I know a thing or two about computers. I installed mandrake 9 on my computer a week ago and I'm starting to wonder if anybody on the Internet can help make my soundcard work.

I've posted on about five different support sites now, including mandrakesexpert.com, experts-exhcange.com (200 points!!), pclinuxonline.com, etc etc. I found the most help on EE but my problem still remains - not a peep out of these speakers. here's the Experts-exchange dialogue so far. If anybody can help me they will be my new personal hero.

thanks

barryfandango

---------------------------

Question from BarryFandango:

I am a 100% linux beginner, but i am an expert windows user so hopefully i can catch on quick. I installed Mandrake 9.0 today and my soundcard doesn't work. It's a Midiman M-Audio Audiophile 2496.

I know that it uses an Envy24 chip and is supported under the ALSA driver ICE1712, and mandrake seems to have detected and installed those things. No sound though.

When I open the Control Center and click on Information--> Sound, I get the following info:

Sound Driver:3.8.1a980706(ALSA v0.9.0rc2 emulation code)

Installed drivers:

Type 10:ALSA emulation

Card config:

M Audio Audiophile 24/96 zt 0xd800, irq 9

Timers:

7:system timer

Mixers:

0:mixer00

--------------

In the control center under Sound-->Sound Server -->Sound I/O i switched the "Sound I/O Method" field to "Advanced Linux Sound Architecture" and hit apply. When the Sound Server restarts i hear a slight click in the speakers, which is the sound the card makes when it's initialized. Hitting the "Test Sound" button under the "General" tab produces no sound though, nor does playing an MP3 in Xmms.

When I open KMix i get a blank window. If i hit File-->New Mixer Tab, a popup asks me to choose a mixer but there are none on the list.

Any help would be appreciated.

-------------------------