How to Fsck a crashed system

Guest bolanski

Guest bolanski

Hi!

I have done something bad and now I have unfixable file errors or something like that. Im kinda new to this so I could need som help

I get a message after the file integrity check that I should run fsck manually (ie whitout the -a and -p options). And the bootup stops there.

So i try to run fsck and it asks for a device so i try the /dev/hda or the /home ore anything else but all I get is some message about unfixable errors and so on.

I think the reason for my file error in the first place was that my disk ran out of space I was dloading som crap and it got full.

The file check says something about a file in /tmp/orbit-andreas/ called orb-7117blablabla... is 6 should have been 4

So what do I do now? I dont know the syntax for a proper fsck and i cant do unlink on files i know is big and could be removed

How do I force a full file check and error fix if possible in a shell/terminal enviroment?

Plz write full syntax so I have a fair chance of sucsess...

fsck -what? /what?

I can get back whit a full description on the error I recive if needed.

/andy

Guest bolanski

Im not totaly new to this and I have tried man fsck and man unlink and --help and such but I cant get the syntax working or mabey its just a non fixable error.

This is what i get:

Cheking root filesystem [failed]

/:

Entry 'orb-17710810861591422061' in (tmp/orbit-andreas (1324918) has an incorrect filetype (was 6 should be 4).

/: UNEXPECTED INCONSISTENCY; RUN fsck MANUALLY.

(ie., whitout -a or -p options)

An error occurred during the file system check

Dropping you to a shell; the system will reboot

when you leave the shell.

Give root password for maintenace

(or type Control-D for normal startup)

So I write in my root password...

And then I get:

(Repair filesystem) 1 #

So i write fsck /home for a try and get this:

fsck.ext2: Is a directory while trying to open /home