Wireless from a noob

Guest Mugendai

Guest Mugendai

I'm pretty new to Linux, I've delved here and there. Keep giving it a moderate, to light try now and then, been much more extended time between tries since I no longer have high speed internet. Anyway, this time around, I got a new laptop with wireless, and decided to give a go at Mandrake 10.2 beta for AMD 64.

Well getting the wireless up and running took some work. First let me say that Mandrake came with some nice lil GUIs to simplify the proccess.. though they didn't work out.

The main issue stimmed from the fact that there is no driver for my wireless, it's one of those broadcom ones. So I needed to use ndiswrapper. The GUI tool let me setup an ndiswrapper driver though, how nice. Unfortunately my laptop manufacturer(asus) didnt bother to provide me an INF file, instead it was an installer, and I couldn't seem to find an inf anywhere, even looking at the temp files during extraction.

It wouldn't have mattered anyway, cause you can not use the 32 bit drivers with the 64 bit system.

So I had to find the driver, I found this: http://www.linuxant.com/driverloader/drivers.php

Driverloader seems to be a tool similar to ndiswrapper, I didnt give it a try though, as it requires signing up, and um maybe money, didn't look into that, what matters is there is a copy of the 64 bit broadcom driver on that page.

So once I had the driver, I fed it to the GUI configurator, and it set things up for me. It also gave me the opportunity to setup encryption options here, which I did.

However, encryption options depend on wpa_supplicant, which is apparently not supplied anywhere in the 3 CD install I got. It did create the config file for wpa_supplicant however.

So I had to go get wpa_supplicant and compile it. Then I copied it's binaries to /usr/local/bin.

Also important here was that I put a link to wpa_supplicant binary in /usr/sbin