Booting Mandrake 10.1 to USB external hard drive

Guest mevatron

Guest mevatron

Hi,

I'm new to Mandrake, but I have used Gentoo for a while. I am currently trying to boot from an external USB 2.0 Hard drive. I have installed the distribution just fine, but the problems are arrising at boot time (as expected). I have figured out how to modify the linuxrc file contained within the initrd image, but I am still having problems getting the kernel to select /dev/sda to boot from.

Here is the linuxrc file after running mkinitrd with the appropriate modules added.

#!/bin/nash

echo "Loading usbcore.ko module"
insmod /lib/usbcore.ko
echo "Loading ohci-hcd.ko module"
insmod /lib/ohci-hcd.ko
echo "Loading scsi_mod.ko module"
insmod /lib/scsi_mod.ko
echo "Loading uhci-hcd.ko module"
insmod /lib/uhci-hcd.ko
echo "Loading pcmcia_core.ko module"
insmod /lib/pcmcia_core.ko
echo "Loading sd_mod.ko module"
insmod /lib/sd_mod.ko
echo "Loading usb-storage.ko module"
insmod /lib/usb-storage.ko
sleep 5
echo "Loading reiserfs.ko module"
insmod /lib/reiserfs.ko
echo Mounting /proc filesystem
mount -t proc /proc /proc
echo Mounting sysfs
mount -t sysfs none /sys
echo Creating device files
mountdev size=1M,mode=0755
echo starting udev
udevstart
echo -n /sbin/hotplug > /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug
echo Creating root device
mkrootdev /dev/root
echo Mounting root filesystem with flags notail,noatime
mount -o notail,noatime --ro -t reiserfs /dev/root /sysroot
echo 0x0100 > /proc/sys/kernel/real-root-dev
pivot_root /sysroot /sysroot/initrd
umount /initrd/sys
umount /initrd/proc
echo Initrd finished

I'm pretty positive this will not work because I'm not rescanning the scsi bus to pick up the new disk. Does anyone here have any suggestions on how to rescan the scsi bus using the new udev. I'm used to devfs which is what the IBM article about the Firewire drive uses to rescan the scsi bus.