changed to appropriate directory and did

./configure

then tried running

make

it gave me an error

saying that no target could be found

I repeated the process again and got yet another error message added on

saying that

"package atk was not found in the pkg-config search path - perhaps you should add the directory containing atk-pc to the PKG_CONFIG_PAH environment variable

No Package 'atk' found

So what do I do now

I need this version of evolution because I need to get all my data from my previous evolution on Fedora Core 3 and I tried using the evolution already on board but I guess this one is a version older than the one I was using previously.

thanks

bamboo

I am still a newbie

Moved from Software to Terminal Shell Commands, Kernel and Programming - Artificial Intelligence

you need to install the libatk devel package - it'll be called libatk-devel, or libatk1-devel or something like that. Use rpmdrake to search for it. However, building something as big as Evolution is likely to be a world of hurt. I'd suggest trying the hacky solutions first. Just copy the .evolution directory from your old system to your new one, and make sure it's owned by your new user. I copy .evolution directories around all the time, it's dirty but it works usually. If it doesn't, you can just rm -rf it. Which MDK do you use, and what version of Evolution does it have?

you need to install the libatk devel package - it'll be called libatk-devel, or libatk1-devel or something like that. Use rpmdrake to search for it. However, building something as big as Evolution is likely to be a world of hurt. I'd suggest trying the hacky solutions first. Just copy the .evolution directory from your old system to your new one, and make sure it's owned by your new user. I copy .evolution directories around all the time, it's dirty but it works usually. If it doesn't, you can just rm -rf it. Which MDK do you use, and what version of Evolution does it have?