Ubuntu - I'm connected, but I'm not - RESOLVED-

I've been using Ubuntu for a couple of months now, and have had no problems. No seriously - No problems, that is....... untill Wednesday. I came home from work and had no internet connection. So I called ISP and they said, "It's probably because we're upgrading your area. It'll be done in about 16 hours." So I waited untill last night, and still had no connection. I checked my network setup, and everything looked good. DHCP connection was picking up the correct IP (I verified this with my ISP's tech. sup. guy.) Tech renewed IP, and I took eth0 up and down several times with no luck. My computer says I'm connected. gkrellm module shows eth0 activity (both up and down), but every time I try to use any app that requires a connection (web browser, email, online games, IM) I get a no connection available error. Any body have any Idea what's going on?

It seems almost like I have a monster firewall in place, but my understanding is that Ubuntu does not come with a firewall, and I haven't downloaded one. Am I wrong about this? Please help. I'm supposed to be switching over to a static IP today, but I don't want to screw with it if this problem is still going on.

Oh yeah. One other thing. I booted to live cd (GNOPPIX) and had same problem. I noticed that while it detected and setup my network options correctly, it said something to the effect of " while your network has been set up correctly, your computer does not know how to communicate with other computers" Something about the Host name, I think. This may not mean anything. I have my computer host name as kevins.linux.box.com, and this has never been a problem before.

Anyway, please help if you can

Edited by kmc77