Setting Up NFS Or FTP Server For Mandrake Installs

Swiss

Hi All,

I've been playing around with Mandrake for a while now and I've got my head round most things, once we got passed the Windows to Linux issues.

I've over come most issues by trial and error :wall: and by reading vast amounts of documentation :zzz:

However there are three problems I am stuck on, mainly becase I can't find good documentation on them, or there is so much documentation on it, that I don't know where to begin.

I wish to setup a nfs or ftp server on my network to allow my to install Mandrake over my network rather than from the CD's.

I have three reasons for this.

1) There's only so many time you can change cd's before you start going a bit mad. Lazy I know, but why do it when you don't have to !!!.

2) I frequentlly have to re-install. This is mainly because I am still learning and therefor have an uncanny ability to screw everything up to the point that nothing works. :oops:

3) The most important reason is updated and additional RPM's. Because I bought Mandrake 9.1 and can't yet afford to purchaes the latest version there are alot of updates avalible most of which I now have (Or at least the ones I need). Every time I re-install from cd i spend a considerable amount of time updateing packages. If I can install over my network I beleive I can update the packages at the source and save myself considerable time. If I can't do it this way, could somebody let me know and I'll stop trying.

My setup is as follows.

I have a couple of Windows machines (I Know, I'm Sorry. When I learn how to make windows games run on a linux platform I'll get rid of them, but not until then).

I have two working linux servers provideing DHCP, Samba, Apache, MySQL, FTP, QMail (POP3, SMTP, SSL-IMAP, Send, FetchMail), Routing and Firewall (Kinda, IP Tables are still confussing me).