acpi in mandrake 10 powerpack

Guest vpn

hi

I have HP compaq nx 9010 laptop and have (after using the "noauto" option

during loading) installed mandrake 10 (powerpack).

I want to get the acpi working. i notice that the lilo.conf has a line

"append= devfs=mount acpi=ht resume=/dev/hda8 splash=silent"

Is it enough if i change the "acpi=ht" to "acpi=on" in the above line?

Can some one tell me what "ht" means and what the "splash" item indicates?

(hda8 is my swap partition).

thanks

vpn

ht=acpi during boot 'only'

yes, usually

acpi=on

is better.

splash=

I'm not an expert on it, but I know that if you have

splash=silent

you'l have fb (framebuffer) during boot....nice background etc.....

splash=quiet

will give you the good old black and white.

Thanks, bvc.

Does "acpi during boot 'only' " mean that its gets turned off after booting?

Also, does resume refer to the power management or any other functionality?

I had earlier loaded fedora core 1 (before mandrake 10 was available)

on this laptop and I had no problem with acpi activation.

(i had edited the grub.conf file to add the "acpi=on" in its kernel parameters).

I removed fedora and installed the newer mandrake since i am a mandrake fan!

I am trying to be absolutely sure about my move because its not my laptop and I am doing

it for someone else who needs to get these fixed. I dont want the laptop to freeze after

activating the acpi (something i've been reading a lot in these forum). Of course, these

are specific to the laptop models and hence I want to know:

Has anyone out there got acpi working properly with mandrake 10 on a HP compaq NX 9010?

Another problem I see is that there is no provision for root login in the graphical login mode

in kde! I have to either switch to command-line mode or su after logging in as a user!

Can I get the "login" and "password" prompt in the graphical login window? (This provision

exists in my mandrake 8.1 in my home PC).

thanks in advance

vpn