Kernel compiling on Centrino laptop

I am expecting my brand new Centrino laptop any day now, on which I am planning to install Mandrake 10.0 Official. However, I consider compiling the newest (2.6.6) kernel to provide the newest kernel features for my laptop containing quite new hardware, and I would like to have a kernel that is a little more tailored for my system. But as I am quite new to kernel compiling, I have a few questions:

*If I download the 2.6.6 tarball and untar it to /usr/src/linux-2.6.6 (or something like that), is there an easy way to get the old (Mandrake default) settings, as I'd like to use this as a starting point?

*Will all modules and drivers be loaded (and configurations files work) as before, as the kernels are both 2.6?

(I had some trouble with the 2.6.6 kernel on my old laptop running SuSE 9.0 (which has a 2.4 kernel as standard), the sound module will not load because of differences of how this is done in the different kernels.)

*I will not do anything drastic, just setting the CPU to the one I have and add options appropriate to my system and remove the ones that I definitely don't need. Is there anything that I should be afraid of? (Can anything go VERY wrong...?)

Thanks in advance,

Lars-Eivind :headbang:

1) Your old config should be in /boot - the file will be called config-2.6.xxx. Copy this to your new kernel source directory, rename to .config and type "make oldconfig". Rename any other .config file as a backup.

2) After you compile the new kernel, you will also compile and install the new modules to go with it.

3) Things can go wrong - the main thing to do is make sure you keep the old kernel intact and bootable - ensure there is an entry for it in lilo.conf or the grub equivalent if you use that, then you can just revert to your old kernel. Or perhaps a copy of knoppix if you know what you are doing.