K please read and provide assistance..

Guest VioLaTeR

Guest VioLaTeR

I know this is a linux forum, but I used the old one, and I understand you guys try to provide a little bit of help for everything.. I have to prove that I can network 3 boxes on windows before my mom lets me tear things up throw mandrake on all 3 and then network to prove its just as easy.. I'm no professional in fact have never even messed around with Networking that much, but I am seizing this oppurtunity!

Ok I bought LINKSYS EtherFast network in a box thingy.. It provides a palm sized hub, 2 network cards, 2 cables, and the disc that has the drivers.. Anyways 2 of the comps already had network cards in them so I put one in mine.. Set it up on windows 98, the other 2 comps run xp so I tried to mess around and set them up right to connect to the network.. I got it where every computer could see each other, but then I realized I have no clue how to network the cable.

We have a cable modem, and how can I go about making all 3 computers run it. I'm going to buy a router because I heard thats the easiest way, so i'll have a hub, each computer has a network card and the right cable, what else do I need a router? And if so how do I do this on one win98 box, and 2 xp boxes?? if I can do this I can then put Mandrake on all 3 and have a linux home network on cable (r0x0rz) :)

Thanks for the help, please be specific and detailed!

My best idea is just take the linksys stuff you bought back and trade it for the 4 or 5 port router.

The setup is the same and then you just plug in the cable modem right into the small router/hub.

The combo router/hub is accualy cheaper than a hub and a router seperate.

A linux Samba setup to access all the comps is just as easy as windows and you'll even be able to keep a windows box in the system for mom.

I'm running 4 boxes now. RedHat, Mandrake and 2 win98. All the comps see each other and trade files. We even game together quite nicely.

Good luck.