MNF - Webadmin with IE

Feldrin

did you read through the threads that mentioned the MNF/IE pesonality issue? the answer was spelled out pretty clearly.

i noticed your other post that complained about the password expirations, where you mentioned that they answer wasn't in the threads. you may want to re-read the MNF threads, as the answer is there. you must have just skipped some of the threads.

eventually, you will come to realize that the download version of MNF is crippleware and that you're better off not wasting your time with it.

I searched again and found answers this time, thanks ! :-)

This thread was very useful : http://www.mandrakeusers.org/index.php?sho...t=0entry11633

I'm indeed a bit worried about all the problems found in the MNF. Since I'm not a Linux expert it may be (and probably is) due to some lack of knowledge from me anyway...However if configuring a proper MNF is so tough, I may switch to a minimal Red Hat install...

Or maybe you can advise me another dsitribution ? What I need to do is to setup 2 firewall, one in my company and the other for the customer. I'll create a VPN between them to be able to remotely connect (via VNC) to my customer's server. I thought the MNF would be a perfect choice for my needs....

thanks for your answer

some people noted problems with MNF's webmin having "personality issues" with internet explorer. reportedly, these problems don't occur with netscape.

in comparison, i had no problems with Konqueror under MDK 9.2 or IE under 98/2000/XP, then all of a sudden everything just "broke." i could not access the webmin from any of the systems on the LAN. this problem was discussed in the "cookies not found" thread and appears to be caused by a time-synchronization problem between the machine running MNF and the webmin client.

reportedly, if the system clocks are off by more than an hour the MNF system won't log on the admin.