Mouse not recognized after initial installatin

Guest ace

The initial installation of Mandrake appears to go very well. At the point I select the mouse type I am using the tests (buttons/wheel) work properly. The installation goes well through the point when the sytem is rebooted. The reboot process shows no problems until the point when I am presented with the "Welcome to the First Time Wizard". I am supposed to either cancel or ok the wizard, this is where it appears the mouse is not longer recognized. The only option I have is to manually reboot the system, repeat the install, which fails again at the same point. I would really like explore the capabilities of Mandrake Linux but do not know how to get around this problem. Note: I have tried both a Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer (PS2) and a Microsoft Intellimouse Pro (PS2) - with the same results.

Software: Mandrake 9.0

Computer: Dell Dimension Pentium Pro

Mouse: see above

I am new to linux world and would appreciate any advice on my problem.

When you reboot, and lilo (if using lilo) appears, press Esc>then type

linux 3

This will should take you to console (init 3). Type

mousedrake

and choose a different mouse, like, generic wheel or something other than what you chose at install.

This (if it works for you) will help you get around til you're able to fix the prob.

http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewtopic.php?t=983

Since I recieved such a prompt response to my request for help, I thought I should update you on my progress. The only available hard drive I had for the installation went bad, and I have to find a way to fix it or buy another one next week.

Ok, I am back. I fixed my HD, and tried to follow the suggestions offered.