need help to install sane driver hp_rts88xx

BobC

I have an HP 4470c scanner which is not yet supported by SANE. There is however an external backend or driver, (http://sane-project.org/lists/sane-backends-external.html), which is an alpha version of a driver for scanners like the 4470c which have a RTS88xx chipset (http://hp44x0backend.sourceforge.net/#mozTocId93432).

My problem is I am relatively new at installing software from sources, and I can't get this driver intsalled. I have installed a few programs but am having difficulty installing the hp_rts88xx backend. I guess I don't fully understand the directions given in the section "4. Driver install" at http://hp44x0backend.sourceforge.net.

These are the instructions and what I have done so far;

Driver install

* You need the SANE sources (ver. 1.0.xx) from http://www.sane-project.org/

* Kernel 2.4: To use the Scanner module check if it is loaded! Load them with „modprobe scanner vendor=0x3f0 product=0x805 “ (hp4470c, 0x805 = hp4400c).

* Kernel 2.6: Install the libusb (>0.1.7) if it isn't installed.

* You need the frondends „Xsane“ , „XscanImage“ or „Kooka“ installed on your PC.

* Include the HP_RTS88xx backend-souces into the SANE sources.

* Go into sane_hp_rts88xx/sane_hp_rts88xx and start patch-sane.sh for patch the SANE sources.

* Start „./configure“ , „make“ and „make install“ on the root folder from the SANE sources. Please read „README“ and „README.linux“ for more.

* Check the installation with „scanimage -L“. It will show the installed driver. If no, please read „README“ and „README.linux“ for more.

* Modify /etc/sane.d/hp_rts88xx.conf : If you see a black image, change the CCD (HP44x0C).

* Additional for SuSe Linux users : use the HP4100 driver for installation under YaST. Modify /etc/sane.d/dll.conf : include hp_rts88xx and disable all another drivers.

* You can find more information's about SANE installation by the sane-troubleshoot Homepage

* Here my additional README.