Partimage tips for those without a burner

Guest GorGor

Guest GorGor

www.partimage.org

amended 01JUL2003 Note I am not an expert. COMMANDS are typed without the quotes eg "look at me" and assumes we are newbies.

I will edit this when I find all the errors I have made, heh heh. So its not WORTHY of going into the tips section please.

PREPARING FOR A CLEAN INSTALL. (section a)

1) Create a spare partition for your images, before installing mdk. Read the mdk documentation on partition restoring (not discussed here or mbr restoring (section i). Make notes of your partition sizes and especially in changes you make if you stray away from mdk or resize any partition.

The images written by partimage are one third the size of the data you install for mdk, or whatever you install. And after awhile you will probably have the need of minimum of 4 images. On clean install my data was over 1Gig so suggest backup partition be 2 Gigs.

My suggestion on clean install, I choose only one partition for root one partition for swap and one partition for my BACKUPS or STORAGE. The cost is a LARGE image.

This storage/image partition where I put downloaded programs too big to save to floppy so I don't like the program after installing it, I restore an earlier image and delete THAT program from my backup/storage parttion.

2) First image is of a clean install with no mdk updates. Mdk prompts you to update during install, but I don't do it until later.

3) Other images will therefore be mdk updates and software changes you think are important to backup.

4) As you get short of space delete the oldest images.

WHY DO IT?

So you can experiment with new software, when I find something I like, I save the file to my backup partiton...then restore my latest image and re-install the preferred software and take a new image. This keeps me clean and lean. Plus I can play with software to my hearts content.

Naturally I make mistakes, doh, so my images are not strictly sequential.