Dual - Boot Separate external failure

Guest hattorihanz0

Guest hattorihanz0

******update****

Ok, I re-installed mandriva again and this time partioned a few sectors spacifically for linux. the rest for fat32. Now winxp recognizes the fat32 partion, but I still get the L 01 01 01 01 boot up error, and don't have any access at all to linux.

any help will be greatly appreciated.

This is my first time messing with linux (aside from Knoppix).

I just got a brand new 400 gig external and wanted to try to set up a dual boot with winxp and mandriva.

I just got a hold of the distro dvd and popped the dvd in the drive and restarted and commenced installation.

I chose the new hd and it partioned it into 6parts automatically. It appeared to install every software from the dvd just fine. So installation finished and I restarted my comp.

After the bios everything stopped.

A dos screen with a bunch of 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 (half of the screen) appeared. I couldn't get into windows or linux. I had to get on a second computer and make a boot disk to boot into winxp.

Now in xp, I can not see the brand new external that linux was supposedly installed on. I'm 90% sure the drive still works (just got it yesterday and dl'ed 4 gigs of stuff onto it before I installed linux) but it still doesn't show up.

I have tried messing around in the bios changing the boot order process.

Tried changing the new external to boot first, but still no luck.

Questions are.

Why can't I see the new drive anymore in windows xp after I installed mandriva on it?

Why does it boot to the 01 01 01 01 01 01 and freeze, leaving me to use a boot disk?

How do I fix it?

would a /fix mbr work?

Many thanks (in advance) for any help!

Is my new hd gone?

[moved from Software by spinynorman - welcome aboard :)]

Edited by hattorihanz0

When you get those repeated numbers it means that your MBR has been corrupted (most likely by LILO) .