Problem getting the GUI screen for Mandrake 10.0

Guest mandar

Guest mandar

hi,

I am new to Linux and wanted to try it on my new laptop(Dell inspiron 9300). I did the installation using Mandrake 10.0. There were 2 things which it was not able to configure, the Graphics card and the sound Card. The given choice while installing did not work. Any idea on how to get these drivers?

After installing i rebooted the m/c and it took be to the Linux Command prompt. Being a newbie i had no idea on what to do next. Any idea on how to get into the graphics mode? I think the problem could be related to the graphics card driver not being installed...

your help would be appreciated..

mandar

Guest mandar
login and type "startx" at the command prompt. Post back what you get.

Typed in "startx", gave one page full of text.. but the error message read like this...

(EE) No device detected

FATAL Server Error: No Screen found.

Guest mandar
Maybe some more information would help: graphics card brand and model, how it is plugged (PCI, AGP, integrated to MB), mainboard brand and model...

Yves.

It is a Dell Inspiron 9300 notebook. The graphics card is 128 MB ATI Mobility Raedon X 300. I am not sure how it is plugged to the MB, but will try finding it out. Any help in the meantime would be useful..

mandar

Your x server is misconfigured. Log in, su to root, and type XFConfig. You should get a configuration program.

Guest mandar
Your x server is misconfigured. Log in, su to root, and type XFConfig. You should get a configuration program.

below is the sequence of commands i executed after i logged in as root.

SU root

xfconfig

it gave me a "No command found" message..