Tips&Tricks Various things

aru

ambrandt

Post Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 9:40 am Post subject: Various things

Hey all!

I'm still a very much newbie to linux (I did manage to get Mandrake 8.0 installed on my IBM Aptiva which now dualboots Mandrake 8.0 and Win98). I still can't figure out how to install anything on my laptop (That's a long story)... but I am definitely satisfied with the whole Linux environment and usability!

Here is the system layout if that'll help any:

IBM Aptiva E2N-2153

4 gig HDD

8x internal CD-ROM

2 USB1.1 ports

500 MHz processor (which runs at a max of 290 due ot motherboard limit)

160 Megs RAM

Crystal PNP audio chipset (soldered to motherboard)

ATI Rage Pro Turbo AGP 1X (soldered to motherboard)

2 Megs video RAM

And, of course, Win98 (OEM version) which dualboots with Mandrake 8.0 thru Lilo

My problems are these:

1) I have 2 CD-ROMs (one is an internal drive which Linux sees and the other is a Hewlett Packard CD-Writer+8200 USB burner which Linux does not see). I have gone through the control panel and found this much as follows:

Vendor: HP

Model: CD-Writer+8200

Device: /dev/scd0

Bus type: SCSI

What I can't figure out is how do I talk Linux into recognizing it so that I can use it?

2) I admit that I have tons of Windows programs (like everything I have is Windows... Office 2000, AOL, and all my games) and I would like to run them under Linux. What do I need to use in order to do

this? Can I get it free?

3) This one may sound a little lame and stupid, but it's been bugging me for the longest time... how do I log in as root? What I am trying to do is set my username so that it has all the priveleges of root and still have other usernames so that my folks can play around with Mandrake as well.