Plex86 VM

Guest joehill

Guest joehill

plex86 is an emulator which allows one to run Windows within a Linux system. It is very similar to VMWare, only it's absolutely free.

I have got it to successfully compile but at that point I am not sure what to do. The site has no links to docs, the README refers to nonexistent HTML files, the XML version will not compile without a long list of devel packages, etc. If anyone has some docs or can help me out with how to install and configure, please do.

merry christmas!

Guest joehill

hmmm, you seem to be saying I could hose my system.

Gee, I've never done that before!

LOL. Hey, it's all part of the learning process.

Merry Christmas, and if I sound like I am half in the bag, well, I am!

Wow you can compile Plex86! Can you please post wich error you get and how did you correct the source? I'm interested in playing with Plex86 too but I haven't the time to work around all the errors in the source...

AFAIK Plex86 is Bochs without the x86 processor emulation. So reading the Bochs documentation should be a good idea...

In few words (well, this is how I've configured Bochs 1 year ago, but should work):

- launch Plex86 one time, and close it. Search in /etc or in your home for a Plex86 configuration file, and edit it (basically you must enter where is your floppy, your cdrom, and where is the file of the virtual HD);

- create the file for the virtual HD (lot of info on the Bochs page);

- insert a boot floppy or a bootable CDROM (the Win98 cdrom for example) and fire up your Plex86 VM.

Guest joehill